search
Email Print PDF

Department of Biological Sciences Inga Richter Spring 2019 Seminar Series

In memory of a former doctoral student lnga R. Richter. Inga was dedicated to her students and profession. She felt that her teaching responsibilities did not stop in the classroom; they stopped when her students understood. All seminars are held on Mondays in Room 926 North (69th Street between Park and Lexington) at 12:00PM. Refreshments will be served at 11:45AM

Click on the speaker to visit their research home page

 

Mon. 4-Feb
Growth factor prodomains as novel regulators of synaptic function and disease
Dr. Joanna Giza
Weill Cornell Medicine
Host: Ben Ortiz

Mon. 11-Feb
Regulation of 3?UTR-mediated protein-protein interactions
Dr. Christine Mayr
Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
Host: Diana Bratu

Mon. 25-Feb
Mechanism of Tau-Induced Neurodegeneration
Dr. Alejandra del Carmen Alonso
CUNY College of Staten Island
Host: Maria Pereira

Mon. 11-Mar
Targeting cell-surface glycans with synthetic carbohydrate receptors
Dr. Adam Braunschweig
ASRC CUNY
Host: Jayne Raper

Mon. 18-Mar
From Workbench To Writing Desk
Dr. Andrea Rothman
Author/Fiction Writer
Host: Carmen Melendez

Tues. Mar 19* (TUES 12:45pm)
Understanding bacterial (Wolbachia) symbiosis in eukaryotic cells illuminates broad translational applications.
Dr. Denis Voronin
New York Blood Center
Host: Jayne Raper

Mon. 25-Mar
Evolution-driven insight into arbovirus transmission and infectivity
Dr. Kenneth Stapleford
New York University
Host: Jayne Raper

Mon. 1-Apr
Acute and chronic demyelinated CNS lesions exhibit opposite elastic properties
Dr. Matt Urbanski
CUNY Hunter College
Host: Carmen Melendez

Mon. 8-Apr
Cancer Immunotherapy: In search of the other "c" word for our cancer patients (cure)
Dr. Thomas Marron
Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai
Host: Jayne Raper

Mon. 15-Apr
Aspirin-triggered anti-inflammatory eicosanoid-like mediators and immune signaling in Drosophila
Dr. Shubha Govind
CUNY City College
Host: Jayne Raper

Mon. 29-Apr
PPP2R2A prostate cancer haploinsufficiency is associated with worse prognosis and a high vulnerability to B55a/PP2A functional reconstitution
Dr. Xavier Grana-Amat
Temple University
Host: Olorunseun Ogunwobi

Mon. 6-May
TBA
Dr. Jeff Martens
University of Florida
Host: Graduate Students Club

Mon. 13-May
Biological roles and physical mechanisms for FHF modulation of voltage-gated sodium channels
Dr. Mitch Goldfarb
CUNY Hunter College
Host: Hualin Zhong